Timmins was founded in 1912; the community was a “by-product” of the Porcupine Gold Rush. Situated 680 km north of Toronto, the camp attracted men and women eager to find their fortune and carve a name for themselves in “New Ontario”. Starting in 1907, the area became home to dozens of prospectors who explored the areas around Porcupine Lake and the Frederick House River
It was not until the discovery of the Dome Mine in 1909, by Jack Wilson, a member of the Harry Preston crew, that the area became known as an important gold camp. Benny Hollinger and his partner Alex Gillies were not far behind the Wilson party; they were to discover the Hollinger Gold Mine.
Discovered by Alexander Olifant (alias Sandy McIntyre), the McIntyre Mines completed the string of important gold discoveries in the Camp. The McIntyre headframe, pictured here, still stands and is a staple in the Timmins skyline.